Skip to Main Content

Structure of the Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania


Disciplinary Board

The Disciplinary Board is comprised of 13 members (11 attorneys, 2 non-attorneys) appointed by the Supreme Court for a term of three years, who may be reappointed for a second term. The Supreme Court designates one member as the Board Chair and one member as the Board Vice Chair. For the current Board membership, click here.

Hearing Committee Members

Hearing Committee members serve the Board as volunteers in their respective districts to conduct hearings and act as a formal reviewing body to determine if a case might move forward in pursuit of a particular course of discipline. Disciplinary Board members appoint approximately 150 Hearing Committee members for a term of three years, and may be reappointed for a second three-year term. For the current Hearing Committee membership, click here.

Office of Disciplinary Counsel

The Office of Disciplinary Counsel, led by the Chief Disciplinary Counsel, investigates and prosecutes attorney misconduct. Complaints are assigned to one of four geographic districts. For district office information, click here.

Office of the Secretary

The Office of the Secretary, led by the Board Secretary, includes the Board Prothonotary, Board Counsel, and the Attorney Registration Office. Among other things, the Office of the Secretary oversees and facilitates the adjudication of disciplinary matters and annual attorney registration.